Lieutenant James E. Breining and now the Scholarship Foundation that bears his name have supported youth learning the Public Safety Profession since 1966 and is pleased to offer this scholarship in support of the youth involved promoting a career of quality law enforcement.  Thousands of teenagers are part of this endeavor that began in 1959.  We offer this scholarship award to the active Public Safety Cadet who best embodies the character and spirit of the program.  James ‘Jim’ Breining was a tireless advocate of the youth organization dedicated to building character while advocating quality policing.

Character, ethics, and demonstrated leadership in Law Enforcement Youth Training and in the community is what drove Jim Breining to remain a steadfast promoter of this program for his entire adult life.  To continue Jim’s tireless efforts, the foundation would like to help pay for college education for those Public Safety Cadets who possess these ideals and we encourage them to apply for this scholarship.

Come on, be a part of Jim’s legacy and apply for the scholarship.

JEB Scholars supports PSC

IMGP1704 394.jpg

2021 Winner
AdahLisa Thompson

Des Moines Police Public Safety Cadet
also pictured Mentor Officer Steven McCarville and Barbara Breining (President)

judah7 crop.jpg

2020 Winner
Judah Wilson

Tyler Police Public Safety Cadet
also pictured Mentor Officer James McCraw and Robert Tompkins (Trustee)

2019 winner w play button.jpg

2019 Winner
Zulemy Loza

Fairfax County Police Public Safety Cadet
also pictured Kent Jefferies (Scholarship Founder)
and Brett Morrison (Trustee)

2018 Winner
Cooper Rapp

Fairfax County Police Post
also pictured are his parents Murray, Diane,
Deputy Police Chief Ted Arnn and
Kent Jefferies (Scholarship Founder)

2017 Winner

Melissa Hetzel

Hartford WI Police Post #9910

2016 Winner

Dennis Stack IV
Marlboro Township Police Department Post #105
also pictured Barbara Breining (President)

2014 Winner

Zachary Brooks
Henrico County Police Division Post #608

2012 Winners

Danielle Ann Christl
West Bend, WI Police Department Post #9911
also pictured Robert Tompkins (Trustee),
Michele Leonhart (DEA Administrator) and Brett Morrison (Trustee)

Vincent Reda
Greenburgh, NY Police Department Post #2003